History of Theta Baptist Church

Theta Baptist Church ( Missionary Baptist Church), formerly known as Carter's Creek Baptist Church was organized under the ministrations of Elijah Hanks in about 1845.  A frame building was erected on Carter's Creek Pike across from the Ernest Trimble farm. 

In the 1850's some dissentions crossed among the members and many of them withdrew.  About 1860 the old building was sold and the remaining members, with others in the vicinity of Theta, erected a hewn log building in Theta calling it “Walnut Grove” however the name continued to be reported as Carter’s
Creek Baptist Church in the associational minutes.  Masten Fitzgerald gave the land site for the church and graveyard. 

Later in 1884 the old building was torn down and the present building was erected on a half acre of ground.  This property was added to the property already owned and given by Mr. Fitzgerald's sons, Carol Green, and Morgan Fitzgerald. 

The Carter's
Creek Baptist
Church was probably affiliated with the Duck River Missionary Baptist Association organized in 1845 and later with the Judson Baptist Association that was organized in 1849.  The church was a charter member of the Ebenezer Baptist Association when it organized in 1893 and also helped to organize the Maury County Baptist Association in 1923 (Southern Baptist Convention), being a charter member of it as well.       

It was reported in the minutes of the Ebenezer Baptist Association in 1899 that the name of the Carter’s Creek Baptist Church had been changed to Theta Baptist Church to correspond with the name of the community.  The Ebenezer Baptist Association held its annual meeting at Theta on September 6, 7, and 8, 1916.  Reverend W.L.  King preached during the meeting. 

On September 28 and 29, 1927 the
Theta Baptist Church was host to the Maury County Baptist Association Annual Meeting with Mr. Tanner as moderator and Reverend J.D. Sullivan delivering the annual sermon. 

A Union Sunday School, first reported in 1894, was held at the
Theta Baptist Church , with Jim Fitzgerald as superintendent.  Other Sunday school superintendents of the church have been John Walters, George Hawkins, Dr. J.P. Moon, J.C. Godwin, Lendo Fitzgerald, George Priest, Pleasant Fitzgerald, Curtis Fitzgerald, Grady Jack, Tommy Parrish, Carl Waggoner, John Davis, and Renis Baker.  Early clerks include J.H. Hull, Mrs. Ida Dalton, Mrs. George Hawkins, Mrs. C.K. Dodson, and Mrs. Will Hastins. 

A Woman's Missionary Society was organized in 1915 with Mrs. J.G.
Anderson serving as the first president followed by Mrs. R.R. Oakley, Mrs. Sallie Priest, Mrs. C.K. Dodson, and others.  

The white frame building erected in 1884 still stands with an addition of three Sunday school rooms and much interior remodeling was done in the 1950's. 

In 1972, after the Reverend Curtis R. Fitzgerald suddenly passed away, a very good Christian friend had the church building bricked in his honor, and the church placed a cornerstone in his memory.  A new communion table, pulpit, and pews were placed in the church through donations given by many in honor of their friends and relatives.  A dedication service was held April 30, 1972.  Dr. William Delaney of
Highland Park Baptist Church preached the sermon. 

Two of the early pastors of the Carter's
Creek Baptist
Church were Elijah Hanks and Reverend Meachum.  Roland Hull was pastor sometime after 1855, possibly after the church moved to Theta.  Dr. R.K. Dawson was ordained and became pastor in 1877.  Other records show that he was pastor from 1891-1895, but as for the intervening years we have no record.      

Other ministers and dates are as follows:

1897-1900                     S.M. Gupton                 
1901-1902                     J.H. Hull                                           
1903-1906                     J.W. Patton                                                         
1907-1910                     J.E. Hight                                                             
1913-1914                     J.W. Patton                                                        
1916-1919                     G.H. Freemen                            
1924-1926                     W.E. Walker                             
1927-1928                     T. Riley Davis                                    
1930-1933                     M.I. Crocker                                                       
1935-1937                     W.W. Miles                                                  
1939-1940                     Boyd LeCroy
1942-1943                     Jesse Hunter
1943-1944                     C.O. Binkley
1948-1950                     C.E. Robinson
1951-1952                     Jerry G. Sadler
1953-1954                     J.T. Pierce
1955-1957                     Felix Hayes
1958-1959                     Frank W. Stone
1961-1962                     Malcolm Shouse
1963-1965                     Sidney Hill
1967-1968                     Frank Britton
1969-1972                     Curtis R. Fitzgerald
1972-1976                     Argine Hughes
1978-1985                     Jimmy Bland
1985-1993                     J.O. Martin
1993-1994                     George Robison
1994-1995                     J.B. Miller
1995-1996                     Carlton Flower
1996-1997                     Terry Bearden
1997-2002                     Tommy Fox 
2002-2003                     Hugh Dalton
2003-2014                     Tommy Fox
2014-2019                      Kevin Morse

Hugh Wick, W.W. Stockmen, and Coleman Sparkman have also been pastors, but the dates are not available.

1983 – Additional room was added on in the form of a mobile unit consisting of three classrooms and a large kitchen, which also serves as a classroom. 

1997 – The church had a 42' x 85' metal building added to the back of the church for classrooms, a half court gymnasium, and fellowship hall. 

July 8, 2001 – The church congregation voted to never vote again and turn the church over to elder rule as is taught in the New Testament.  A Transition Team was set up, and out of this group of men the elders were to be chosen, except for the pastor, which can be chosen outside of the church membership. 

May 1, 2002 – Hugh Dalton was called from
California to be the pastor. 

November 12, 2002 – Clay Smith became the music director.     

February 9, 2003 – Hugh Dalton resigned.  Tommy Fox was asked to return as the interim pastor. 

February 16, 2003 – Tommy Fox originally accepted the position for a 90 day trial period.  But he remained the pastor for about eight months.  The Transition Team then asked Tommy to stay on as the pastor. 

November 2, 2003 – Tommy Fox accepted the position of pastor and elder.  

November 2, 2003 – Pastor Tommy Fox appointed Rick Martin as an elder. 

January 11, 2004 – Randall Ingram began setting up the church's website.  

June 25, 2006 – The elders appointed Clay Smith as an elder. 

June 25, 2006 – The elders appointed Paul Mefferd, Bobby McKennon, and Don Jackson as deacons.

November 9, 2014 - The church called Kevin Morse as pastor and elder.   

April 13, 2019 - Kevin Morse resigned as pastor.


  We are grateful for the late Mrs. Clifford Baker who pulled together the early history.  She typed what details we have on an old typewriter.  Without her efforts, we would not have this information today.